Tombrack united

Wexford Football League Club of the year

  • 1.jpg
  • 3.jpg

O Neills LFA Youth Cup First Round


St Josephs AFC (Carlow)  3  Tombrack United  1


A hard working well orgnanised home side came from behind to overcome a young Tombrack in Tinryland in this O Neills LFA Youth Cup first round tie. After a scrappy opening ten minutes where chances were at a minimum, it was Tombrack who went closest when Josh McMullan saw his effort just clear the crossbar with the home keeper well beaten. The Wexford league side were dealt a blow when having to make a substitution after just fifteen minutes when Jack Salt replaced the injured Thomas Fitzgerald and his proved to be an inspired move, as minutes later, the substitute beat the keeper to the ball and shot to net from a difficult angle

The Carlow side came in search of an equaliser and went close close through efforts from Matthew Delaney, who headed just wide, and Corey Kelliher who saw his shot well saved by Evan Murphy.

Almost on the half hour mark, St Josephs were rewarded when Sam Byrne,beat the offside trap to found himself free on goal and gave Murphy no chance with his well-placed shot to the bottom corner. They could have been ahead a minute later when a well struck shot from Kelliher, bounced awkwardly in front of the Tombrack keeper and he did well to scramble the ball clear for a corner. Continued pressure from the home side saw them eventually go in front when Jonah Dunne rose highest in a crowded penalty area to head a Cian Shannon cross to the back of the net three minutes before the break

The second saw Tombrack improve dramatically with Evan Maher in midfield becoming more dominant with Harry Fitzgibbon and Josh McMullan combining well to create problems for the home defenders. The best chance of an equaliser came when Padraig Nolan worked his way down the right wing, his accurate pass finding McMullan who had the ball scrambled away before he could shoot

With five minutes to go, Tombrack got caught on the break and St Josephs booked their place in the second round when sub Dylan McDermott found himself in acres of space and gave Murphy no chance with his well struck effort. Harry Fitzgibbon almost had the final say for Tombrack but his shot went just outside the post.


St Josephs Blue AFC: Ross Mannion, Robert Timmons, Jack Murphy, Ben Murphy, Matthew Delaney, Daniel Nolan, Jonah Dunne, Cian Shannon, Sam Byrne, Even Maguire, Corey Kelliher, Dylan McDermott, Ryan Kelly, Rory Guerr, Jamie Stafford, Sam Byrne O Dwyer


Tombrack United: Evan Murphy, Padraig Nolan, Thomas Jeffers, Patrick O Toole, Ciaran Nolan, David Power, Jack White, Evan Maher, Josh McMullan, Thomas Fitzgerald, Harry Fitzgibbon, Hassid Yasin, William Kenny, Jack Salt, Sean Murtagh


Referee: Morgan O Reilly

forms Downloads

forms Downloads


facebook Tombrack United


forms Downloads


  • masita.png
  • colemans.png
  • mahertiling.png
  • avenmore.png
  • star.png
  • ifac.png
  • oneills.png
  • estherm.png
  • benedicts.png


Club of the Year

Did you know Tombrack United were voted the Wexford Football League Club of the Year for 2017?

Get Involved

If you wish to get involved in the day to day running of the club, coaching, fitness or sponsorship get in touch with a committee member.


League Tables

You can view the latest league tables by clicking on any of the links below.

© 2022 Tombrack United AFC
Website by
Back to Top