Tombrack united

Wexford Football League Club of the year

  • 1.jpg
  • 3.jpg


Carlow Over Thirty Five League Division Two


Village FC  2  Tombrack United  1


Two first half strikes from outside the penalty area saw Village FC take all three points in this very entertaining league match in Bagenalstown where for various reasons, Tombrack only had ten players but still produced one of their best performances to date

The home side started well but found a resilient and determined Tombrack defence difficult to break down with Willie Breen, Darren Quinn and Martin Kenny all working hard to keep them at bay before a well struck volley on fourteen minutes eventually beat David Kennedy to put Village 1-0 up

Tombrack came in search of the equaliser with the two Barry’s, Murphy and McDermott, going close while Mick Kenny saw his shot go wide of the post. Disaster struck for Tombrack just before half time when the home side were sharper and sent a twenty yard shot to the roof of the net

The lads were much more determined in the second half as they launched a barrage of attacks on the Village goal and on ten minutes Martin Doyle was taken down on the edge of the area and Joe Newe’s free kick was well saved by the keeper

Midway through the half, Ray Murphy’s deft pass put Barry McDermott through on goal and just to show he hadn’t lost his touch, Barry neatly lobbed the ball over the advancing keeper and into the empty net.

Tombrack still had to defend strongly to keep Village at bay and this they did but the final five minutes was all the visitors as they went in search of the equaliser and thought they had it when Mick Kenny headed on, Martin Doyle nodded back across the box and Barry Murphy saw his effort just go over the crossbar

This was only the fifth game in the history of this team and definitely a much improved performance on any of the previous four and great credit must go to the ten players who battled through the seventy minutes…….and God forbid, they might be even beginning to show a little improved fitness wise.


Squad: David Kennedy, Darren Quinn, Willie Breen, Martin Kenny, Barry Murphy, Joe Newe, Martin Doyle, Barry McDermott, Ray Murphy, Mick Kenny


forms Downloads

forms Downloads


facebook Tombrack United


forms Downloads


  • estherm.png
  • masita.png
  • colemans.png
  • mahertiling.png
  • star.png
  • oneills.png
  • ifac.png
  • benedicts.png
  • avenmore.png


Club of the Year

Did you know Tombrack United were voted the Wexford Football League Club of the Year for 2017?

Get Involved

If you wish to get involved in the day to day running of the club, coaching, fitness or sponsorship get in touch with a committee member.


League Tables

You can view the latest league tables by clicking on any of the links below.

© 2019 Tombrack United AFC
Website by
Back to Top